November 2021 Reading Wrap Up

This was an interesting month. It seemed like it went by in the blink of an eye, but looking back at the books I read in the beginning of the month, it feels like forever ago. It’s been stressful, not going to lie, what with college applications and the overall havoc of November, but I actually managed to read 10 books this month, which I am super happy with. I read so many great books this month and started a reread on one of my favorite series ever!

Without further ado, let’s get into this reading wrap up!

Twelve: The Naturals E-novella by Jennifer Lynn Barnes | NOOK Book (eBook)  | Barnes & Noble®

Twelve by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

I have a tradition of rereading this novella every Halloween, and this year was no exception! I love seeing the characters five years after the end of the series, and the mystery is fantastic!

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard

I have mixed feelings about this book. It had some plot holes and the pacing was a bit wacky at some points, but I found it pretty enjoyable. I think I will plan on reading the rest of this series.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

The Awakening by Kate Chopin

I read this for my AP Literature class and honestly I found it boring, but insightful as to life back then.

Rating: 2 out of 5.

Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad

This was another novella I read for my AP Literature class. I did not like this one at all, easily the worst book we’ve read all year. The writing was so dense and required much more concentration than normal. At the risk of sounding unintelligent, I did not understand what was going on until a classmate broke it down for me. I really, really did not enjoy this book.

Rating: 1 out of 5.
Amazon.com: The Name of the Star (The Shades of London): 9780142422052:  Johnson, Maureen: Books

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

Maureen Johnson never disappoints. Filled with British boarding schools, Jack the Ripper, and ghosts out to murder people, this is easily her best book.

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Amazon.com: Shadowlands: 9781423164838: Brian, Kate: Books

Shadowlands by Kate Brian

I read this book about three years ago and, honestly, I completely forgot about it. I decided to reread it, and I definitely enjoyed it more the first time. Maybe my taste in books has changed, but I did not like this as much as I thought I was going to. It was filled with flat characters and plot holes, but the plot twist at the end was still fantastic!

Rating: 3 out of 5.
Amazon.com: Tweet Cute: A Novel: 9781250237323: Lord, Emma: Books

Tweet Cute by Emma Lord

Like the name suggests, this was such a cute book! It was super clever and I loved the characters and the plot so much. It’s a perfect book to read if you’re looking for something light that you don’t have to think too much about. It’s also super funny! I actually laughed out loud a couple of times.

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Amazon.com: Cinder: 9781250007209: Marissa Meyer: Books

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

I read the Lunar Chronicles book series a while ago, but with the recent advertising for Marissa Meyer’s latest book, Gilded, I suddenly got really nostalgic about these book and needed to reread them ASAP! I honestly loved this book more than I did the first time I read it.

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles, #2) by Marissa Meyer

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer

Continuing my reread of the Lunar Chronicles, I did not like this book as much as Cinder (it’s probably my least favorite in the series) but I still found it to be a thoroughly entertaining read.

Rating: 5 out of 5.
Cress (The Lunar Chronicles, #3) by Marissa Meyer

Cress by Marissa Meyer

This was the last book I was able to get in this month, and I am glad I finished it out with probably the best book I read all month. I adore this book, from the new characters to the politics and everything in between. It’s wonderful.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

That concludes my November 2021 reading wrap up! I read and reread so many good books this month, and I cannot wait to see what I read in December.

If you have read any books mentioned here, tell me about it! I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments below!

See you around! Happy reading!

4 thoughts on “November 2021 Reading Wrap Up

  1. I loved Tweet Cute when I read it earlier on this year! And, I am getting the Lunar Chronicles for Christmas this year and I cannot wait to finally read them!

    Like

Leave a comment